OUR SHARES

logo-shelltone-whale-projetc-guadeloupe

GEOREFERENCED DATA PROVISION AGREEMENT

Between the undersigned:

Shelltone Whale Project, association of law 1901.

Represented by its President, Mr Pierre Lavagne de Castellan

And 

The Marine Protected Areas AgencyThe Commission is a national public institution of an administrative nature.

headquartered at

16 quai de la douane, BP 42932

29229 BREST CEDEX 2

Over the past few years, the Agoa Sanctuary has collected a number of data on cetaceans. These data have been acquired by the sanctuary (via various campaigns at sea, the installation of acoustic beacons and the census of opportunistic data...) but also by local actors (associations, research departments, private groups...).

A more detailed study of these data made it possible to identify feeding, resting and socialization areas for several species of marine mammals. In order to obtain more robust results, the Agency is asking the Shelltone Whale Project to enhance its data and knowledge on the subject. This project will be carried out as part of a master's internship starting in January.

This information, assembled in data banks, is then analysed and stored at the centre of the marine protected areas. These observations will eventually provide a visual overview of the state of play in the part of the sanctuary where the Shelltone Whale Project operates, the leeward coast of Guadeloupe, from Deshaies to Basse Terre.

The Agoa Sanctuary is a marine protected area dedicated to marine mammals in the French West Indies.

The objective of the Agoa Sanctuary is to ensure a favourable conservation status for marine mammals by protecting them and their habitats from the direct or indirect, proven or potential negative impacts of human activities.

The Agoa Sanctuary carries out actions to better understand and protect marine mammals and their habitats while promoting a harmonious cohabitation between human and animal activities.

These actions are in line with the overall objective of the sanctuary and its main principles of action: limitation of negative interactions, limitation of pollution, public knowledge, information and awareness, development of monitoring means, cooperation.

CONFERENCES

FEBRUARY 1, 2020 : WORLD ANIMAL INTELLIGENCE DAY

CITÉ DES SCIENCES ET DE L'INDUSTRIE, PARIS AT 6PM

THE SONGS OF THE WHALES, CONFERENCE AND CONCERT BY PIERRE LAVAGNE DE CASTELLAN

Research Director of the Shelltone Whale Project, Pierre Lavagne de Castellan spoke about whale songs: why do they sing, what are the hypotheses, is it possible for humans to communicate with whales, what is the status of current research? In the second part, he played Shelltonethe instrument he developed with the Ecole Centrale de Nantes and Stanford University in California to communicate with humpback whales. He plays accompanied by whale songs that he himself recorded during his research in inter-species communication. This unique creation will reproduce the exchange that exists today between humans and cetaceans through music.

Co-organized with the support of the Cité des Sciences et de l'industrie.

Here is the very interesting video of his intervention in full version (59 min)

Cite-des-Sciences-et-de-Lindustrie

PUBLICATIONS

Animals are much more intelligent than we ever thought... Regularly, discoveries are made that enlighten us about their sensitivity, their emotional capacity, their generosity, their solidarity and, dare we say it, their wisdom.
Seven brilliant spirits, with exceptional journeys, take us to this fascinating universe of animal intelligence. Thanks to them, you will discover the incredible powers of whale songs that boost the protein content of the plankton, you will see, with the bonobos, that laughter is not the only thing that makes man laugh. You will understand that you can manage a team by taking inspiration from schools of fish. You'll see that ants invented agriculture long before man...
These examples, and many others, show us that the supremacy of man over animals is pure fiction and that, better still, animals are perhaps the lifeline of humanity through their ability to survive and adapt.

Let's reinvent our relationship with the animal, our survival depends on it!

This book is available here :  Larousse

INTERNSHIP AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE UNIVERSITY OF THE WEST INDIES AT PITRE AND THE SHELLTONE WHALE PROJECT

From January 30 to February 24, 2017:

We receive Ms. Océanne Amaya Cipollini, student in L3 life and earth sciences, biology of organisms and ecosystems.

Internship subject: photo identification and acoustic observation of cetaceans, ethology and study of marine mammals in the Agoa sanctuary, from Deshaies to Basse Terre.

oceanne-lea-1

Océanne and Léa at work on the Sec Nord, opposite Baille Argent.

From January 15 to February 9, 2018:

We work with Aurélie Martineau, a student in L3 of BOE (Biology of Organisms and Ecosystems) in Guadeloupe.

Internship subject: Implementation of geo-referenced data of cetaceans of the leeward coast of Guadeloupe, study of the bio-acoustic tool, acoustic identification of species and their behaviour in their environment.

aurelie-shelltone-1

Aurelie at work in the Agoa shrine.

LECTURES ON BOARD THE AMERICAN UNIVERSITY SHIP OCEAN STAR

Regularly, the university ship Ocean Star anchors in Deshaies, the Seamester organization schedules, at each passage, a conference on the Shelltone Whale Project research presented to American marine biology students by Pierre Lavagne de Castellan.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

PRESS AND TESTIMONIALS

Télérama, article by Emmanuel Tellier :
Pierre Lavagne de Castellan, the man who sings like a whale...

France Inter, chronicle by Anne Pastor :
The song of the whales

France Antilles of 16/02/15 :
France Antilles

Radio Nova:
Novaplanète

Neoplanet:
Neoplanet

Interview Post-conference Neoplanet :
Interview

Lecture Pierre Lavagne de Castellan University of Animal Intelligence :
Conference

TESTIMONY OF HEATHER HARDING, MARINE BIOLOGIST, MAUI, MAWAII.

Hello, Pierre,

Your legacy still lives on here in Maui. At the last Whaledreamer meeting I had the Shelltone you gave me and I told your story. People who hadn't heard about it were fascinated and inspired.

I don't know if you realize how inspiring this is for people.

The act of creating something, putting one's heart, soul and passion into it without expecting anything in return is in itself a powerful act.

The whales seem to encourage this kind of attitude on our part.

We may not know why we do what we do, but we may believe there is a reason. It is so important that we do these kinds of things more and more, to help balance and heal this world that is sick of the actions of people driven by greed and selfishness, in that your example has value.

I like the Shelltone you gave me. Thank you very much, I cherish it and with it I tell your story to all the people I meet on my whale watching trips, to the students in my classes and at Whaledreamers meetings.

I hope you know how valuable your project is to so many people.

Heather Harding. Marine biologist. Maui - Hawaii - USA

 

W.H.A.L.E

WHALE SONGS - 43 Min.

Recorded 10 miles off Baille Argent on 26 April 2016. We are convinced that there is a message in this song. Good listening!

Read more...

CD cover

NOS ACTIONS

logo-shelltone-whale-projetc-guadeloupe

CONVENTION DE MISE À DISPOSITION DE DONNÉES GÉORÉFÉRENCÉES

Entre les soussignées :

Shelltone Whale Project, association de loi 1901.

Représenté par son Président, Monsieur Pierre Lavagne de Castellan

Et 

L’Agence des aires marines protégées, établissement public national à caractère administratif.

ayant son siège social au

16 quai de la douane, BP 42932

29229 BREST CEDEX 2

Au cours des dernières années, le sanctuaire Agoa a réuni un certain nombre de données sur les cétacés. Ces données ont été acquises par le sanctuaire (via les différentes campagnes en mer, la pose de balises acoustiques ainsi que le recensement de données opportunistes…) mais aussi par des acteurs locaux (associations, bureau d’études, groupes privés…).

Une étude plus en détail de ces données a permis de mettre en valeur des zones d’alimentation, de repos et de sociabilisation pour plusieurs espèces de mammifères marins. Dans l’objectif d’avoir des résultats plus robustes, l’Agence sollicite le Shelltone Whale Project afin de valoriser ses données et ses connaissances sur le sujet. Ce projet sera réalisé dans le cadre d’un stage de master qui débutera en janvier.

Ces informations, assemblées en banques de données sont ensuite analysées et stockées au centre des aires marines protégées, ces observations permettrons à terme d’avoir un visuel de l’état des lieux dans la partie du sanctuaire où opère le Shelltone Whale Project, la côte sous le vent de Guadeloupe, de Deshaies à Basse Terre.

Le sanctuaire Agoa est une aire marine protégée dédiée aux mammifères marins dans les Antilles Françaises.

Le sanctuaire Agoa a pour objectif de garantir un état de conservation favorable des mammifères marins en les protégeant, ainsi que leurs habitats, des impacts négatifs directs ou indirects, avérés ou potentiels, des activités humaines.

Le sanctuaire Agoa mène des actions visant à mieux connaître et protéger les mammifères marins et leurs habitats tout en favorisant une cohabitation harmonieuse entre activités humaines et animaux.

Ces actions s’inscrivent dans le cadre de l’objectif global du sanctuaire et de ses grands principes d’actions : limitation des interactions négatives, limitation des pollutions, connaissance, information et sensibilisation du public, développement des moyens de surveillance, coopération.

CONFÉRENCES

1ER FÉVRIER 2020 : JOURNÉE MONDIALE DES INTELLIGENCES ANIMALES

CITÉ DES SCIENCES ET DE L’INDUSTRIE, PARIS A 18H

LES CHANTS DES BALEINES, CONFÉRENCE ET CONCERT PAR PIERRE LAVAGNE DE CASTELLAN

Directeur de recherche du Shelltone Whale Project, Pierre Lavagne de Castellan a parlé du chant des baleines : pourquoi chantent-elles, quelles sont les hypothèses, est-il possible pour l’homme de communiquer avec les baleines, où en sont les recherches actuelles ? En seconde partie, il a joué du Shelltone, l’instrument qu’il a mis au point avec l’Ecole Centrale de Nantes et l’Université de Stanford en Californie, pour communiquer avec les baleines à bosse. Il joue accompagné par des chants de baleines qu’il a lui-même enregistré lors de ses recherches en communication inter espèce. Cette création unique reproduira l’échange qui existe aujourd’hui entre les hommes et les cétacés grâce à la musique.

Co-organisé avec avec le soutien de la Cité des Sciences et de l’industrie.

Voici la très intéressante vidéo de son intervention en version intégrale (59 min)

Cite-des-Sciences-et-de-LIndustrie

PUBLICATIONS

Les animaux sont beaucoup plus intelligents qu’on ne l’a jamais cru… Régulièrement, des découvertes se font jour qui nous éclairent sur leur sensibilité, leur capacité d’émotion, leur générosité, leur solidarité et, osons le dire, leur sagesse.
Sept esprits brillants, aux parcours exceptionnels, nous emmènent dans cet univers fascinant de l’intelligence animale. Grâce à eux, vous découvrirez les pouvoirs incroyables du chant des baleines qui boostent la teneur en protéines du plancton, vous verrez, avec les bonobos, que le rire n’est pas le propre de l’homme. Vous comprendrez qu’on peut manager une équipe en s’inspirant des bancs de poissons. Vous constaterez que les fourmis ont inventé l’agriculture bien avant les hommes…
Ces exemples, et de multiples autres, nous prouvent que la suprématie de l’homme sur l’animal est une pure fiction et que, mieux encore, les animaux sont peut-être la planche de salut de l’humanité par leurs capacités de survie et d’adaptation.

Réinventons notre rapport à l’animal, notre survie en dépend  !

Ce livre est disponible ici :  Larousse

CONVENTION DE STAGE ENTRE L’UNIVERSITÉ DES ANTILLES DE POINTE À PITRE ET LE SHELLTONE WHALE PROJECT

Du 30 Janvier au 24 Février 2017 :

Nous recevons Mlle. Océanne Amaya Cipollini, étudiante en L3 science de la vie et de la terre, biologie des organismes et des écosystèmes.

Sujet de stage : photo identification et observation acoustique des cétacés, éthologie et étude des mammifères marins dans le sanctuaire Agoa, de Deshaies à Basse Terre.

oceanne-lea-1

Océanne et Léa au travail sur le Sec Nord, face à Baille Argent.

Du 15 Janvier au 9 Février 2018 :

Nous travaillons avec Aurélie Martineau étudiante en L3 de BOE ( Biologie des Organismes et de l’Ecosysteme ) en Guadeloupe.

Sujet de stage : Mise en place de données géo-référencées des cétacés de la cote sous le vent de Guadeloupe, étude de l’outil bio acoustique, identification acoustique des espèces et de leur comportement dans leur milieu.

aurelie-shelltone-1

Aurélie au travail dans le sanctuaire Agoa.

CONFÉRENCES À BORD DU NAVIRE UNIVERSITÉ AMÉRICAIN OCEAN STAR

Régulièrement, le navire université Ocean Star mouille à Deshaies, l’organisation Seamester programme, à chaque passage, une conférence sur les recherches du Shelltone Whale Project présentée aux étudiant américains en biologie marine par Pierre Lavagne de Castellan.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

PRESSE ET TÉMOIGNAGES

Télérama, article d’Emmanuel Tellier :
Pierre Lavagne de Castellan, l’homme qui chante comme une baleine

France Inter, chronique d’Anne Pastor :
Le chant des baleines

France Antilles du 16/02/15 :
France Antilles

Radio Nova :
Novaplanète

Néoplanète :
Néoplanète

Interview Post conférence Néoplanète :
Interview

Conférence Pierre Lavagne de Castellan Université due l’intelligence animale :
Conférence

TÉMOIGNAGE D’HEATHER HARDING, BIOLOGISTE MARIN, MAUI, MAWAII.

Bonjour Pierre,

Ton héritage vit toujours ici à Maui. A la dernière réunion « Whaledreamer » j’avais le Shelltone que tu m’a donné et j’ai raconté ton histoire. Les gens qui n’en avait pas entendu parlé étaient fascinés et inspirés.

Je ne sais pas si tu réalise combien ceci est inspirant pour les gens.

L’acte de créer quelque chose, y mettre son coeur, son âme et sa passion sans attendre rien en retour est en soi un acte puissant.

Les baleines semblent encourager ce genre d’attitude de notre part.

Nous ne savons peut-être pas pourquoi nous faisons ce que nous faisons, mais nous pouvons croire qu’il y a une raison. Il est tellement important que nous fassions ce genre de choses de plus en plus, pour aider à équilibrer et soigner ce monde qui est malade des actes perpétrés par des gens guidés par l’avidité et l’égoïsme, en cela ton exemple a de la valeur.

J’aime le Shelltone que tu m’a donné. Merci beaucoup, je le chéri et avec lui je raconte ton histoire à tout les gens que je rencontre durant mes voyages près des baleines, aux étudiants dans mes classes et aux réunions Whaledreamers.

J’espère que tu sais combien ton projet à de la valeur pour tant de personnes.

Heather Harding . Biologiste marin. Maui – Hawaii – USA

 

W.H.A.L.E

CHANTS DE BALEINES – 43 Min.

Enregistré à 10 miles au large de Baille Argent le 26 avril 2016. Nous sommes convaincus qu’il y a un message dans ce chant. Bonne écoute !

En savoir plus…

pierre-lavagne-1