Skip to content

OUR MISSION

The mission of the Shelltone Whale Project is to play, improvise, co-write and record music with whales, sublimating through this common creation the fundamentals of inter-species communication, and then to analyse these data, try to understand them and study the effects of these songs and sounds on other living organisms such as plants, animals and humans.

Team Shelltone

The Shelltone Whale Project is a non-profit organisation, recognised as being of general interest for its research into acoustics with cetaceans and its environmental actions in the marine environment. It specialises in interspecies communication with cetaceans.

Our scientific experience in approaching cetaceans allows us to guarantee our expedition passengers a unique experience based on the knowledge and respect of the animals we observe. 

All the captains of our various bases have been trained by Pierre Lavagne de Castellan, marine bio-acoustician, ethnologist and research director of the Shelltone Whale Project.

All our trips are conducted in accordance with the Shelltone Whale Project charter, developed over 30 years of studying cetaceans around the world.

lea-nael-pierre-equipage-shelltone-1

Pierre Lavagne de Castellan

Marine bioacoustician ? Ethologist ? Research director of the Shelltone Whale Project. 

He met his first humpback whale and heard its song in Hawaii in 1981. Since then, he has travelled around the world and sailed in all seas. To establish contact and initiate interspecies communication with humpback whales, music soon became an obvious way.

In 2005, he created the Shelltone Whale Project and obtained recognition as being of general interest. In two years, at the acoustic research laboratory of the Ecole Centrale de Nantes and at Stanford University in California, he developed a wind instrument that allows him to play music underwater in the frequencies of humpback whales with the same range.

From 2008 to 2012, he tested this instrument between northern California and the Hawaiian archipelago, with humpback whales. The first musical exchanges between humans and cetaceans, underwater, were born from these experiments.

Since 2013, he has been studying whale songs and helping to set up an acoustic and photographic database of cetaceans in the young Agoa sanctuary, a marine protected area in Guadeloupe, where humpback whales breed.

He now divides his time between Guadeloupe, where he is trying to re-establish the "lost link", which is now the main mission of the Shelltone Whale Project, and Cadaqués in Catalonia, where he is setting up inter-species communication protocols with the cetaceans of Cap de Creus.

Peter-2-1

Léa Lavagne de Castellan

Member of the research team.

Léa has developed a beautiful knowledge of cetaceans based on trust and respect.

A special empathy has developed over time between her and these animals since she has been swimming with them in the Shelltone Whale Project research programme.

A complicity was born between her and the different species we study, especially with the sperm whales that she calls her "Gwo Pwasons" ? She follows the births very closely and gives names to the baby sperm whales, which she then meets regularly over the years.

She is capable of analysing the behaviour of the different species that inhabit the waters of the Agoa sanctuary where we work, she knows how to observe or interact with them without intrusion, in the greatest respect.

In addition to her involvement in the research programme, Léa is a certified guide for the Agoa sanctuary.

 

shelltone-whale-project-guadeloupe-lea-lavagne-002

Nael Garnier

Captain and cetacean guide in Guadeloupe.

Nael was born in Baille Argent, the home port of the Shelltone Whale Project Guadeloupe. He is a qualified professional ship's captain.
 
Trained by Pierre Lavagne de Castellan in marine acoustics and responsible approach to cetaceans, he is a guide and captain of the Shelltone Whale Project Guadeloupe since 2017.
 
A professional fisherman, he has extensive experience of sailing in the leeward coast of Guadeloupe where we work. His knowledge of the marine environment, fish, marlin, swordfish, tuna and seabirds is complementary to his skills on cetaceans during our observation trips in Guadeloupe.
 
He is a graduate of the French marine protected areas, the "Agoa" cetacean sanctuary
nael-garnier-1

Lori le Blevec

Captain and cetacean guide in Nice.

Lori has always been at ease in an aquatic environment and has spent her life near the sea, alternating between the Breton, Mediterranean and tropical coasts. She has always felt the need to work in this environment.

She very quickly passed her boating licence and classes to become a lifeguard.

Lori has travelled the world discovering cetaceans for more than ten years in order to learn about and understand them better.

She met Pierre Lavagne de Castellan with whom she shares the same philosophy, he trained her in the basics of marine acoustics and taught her the art of the non-intrusive approach to cetaceans, she practices a responsible approach to cetaceans by following the Shelltone Whale Project charter "RESPECT".

In 2018, after a real crush, she bought her sailboat "Cétacéa", a magnificent 14-metre ketch, which she dedicates to the study of cetaceans, particularly those of the Pelagos triangle, off Nice on the French Riviera.

His aim with the Shelltone Whale Project is to show in a gentle and respectful way that there are cetaceans under the windows of many people on the French Riviera.

It is essential for her to make people discover the fascinating life of these marine animals during her cetacean watching trips on the Côte d'Azur, so that together we can better protect them.

Lotri-le-blevec-1
Lotri-le-blevec-2

Franklin Tarriere

Captain and cetacean guide in Biarritz.

Franklin, a Basque-Breton captain, has always let himself be carried by the ocean. His grandfather passed on to him his deep passion for the sea, and he was already sailing alongside him before he was even old enough to remember.

After becoming a sailor, the sea took him to the four corners of the world to live out his most beautiful adventures. From Ireland to the Caribbean, he has worked on all kinds of ships.

His knowledge of and respect for cetaceans and his encounter with the Shelltone Whale Project have led him to become involved in their study and protection at home in the Basque Country.

He was trained by Pierre Lavagne de Castellan and discovered the basics of marine bioacoustics and practices a responsible approach to cetaceans by following the Shelltone Whale Project "RESPECT" charter.

Franklin, a Basque-Breton captain, has always let himself be carried by the ocean. His grandfather passed on to him his deep passion for the sea, and he was already sailing alongside him before he was even old enough to remember.

After becoming a sailor, the sea took him to the four corners of the world to live out his most beautiful adventures. From Ireland to the Caribbean, he worked on all kinds of ships.

His knowledge of and respect for cetaceans and his encounter with the Shelltone Whale Project have led him to become involved in their study and protection at home in the Basque Country.

148485329_116842570364554_8297767106058041829_n

Corto D'albarade

Captain and cetacean guide in Saint-Pierre and Miquelon

Originally from the Parisian suburbs, Corto was attracted to the sea at a very young age, in particular thanks to the film "The Big Blue".

He began sailing first as a fisherman and then as a merchant mariner, first as a sailor and then as a captain.

His first real encounter with cetaceans was in 2017, in Saint-Pierre and Miquelon. Since then, he has had an unconditional love for these animals and this territory.

Surrounded by cetaceans, penguins, seals and puffins, the waters of the Saint-Pierre and Miquelon archipelago have become his playground for sharing his passion with the public. He joined the Shelltone team in 2023.

corto-captain-boat-1

Valerie Gueit

Photographer - Member of the Research Team.

Valerie is the underwater eye of the Shelltone Whale Project. She spent her early childhood in New Caledonia, then lived between Martinique and Guadeloupe. She joined the Shelltone Whale Project research team 6 years ago. Valérie documents through images our experience of inter-species communication with the cetaceans of Guadeloupe.

valerie-gueit-photographer-cetaces_1
valerie-gueit-photographer-marine-1

PLAY MUSIC WITH THE WHALES

Beneath the surface of the oceans, whales sing extraordinarily complex and delicate songs, a pure expression of their intense social life and wisdom. Anyone who has been close to a whale and had the chance to listen to its song has had the feeling that these peaceful creatures have an immense amount of knowledge to discover and share.

After several years of collaboration between acoustic engineers and marine biologists, at the Acoustic Research Laboratory of the University of Geneva, we are now in the process of developing a new approach to acoustics.Ecole Centrale de Nantes and theStanford University in CaliforniaThe Shelltone Whale Project team has created a wind instrument inspired by the marine conch shell, which can reproduce the songs of whales above and below the water surface.

In every region of the world, humpback whale families compose songs that are unique to them. However, every year, all whales in all oceans have a common song that is constantly evolving. Humpback whales remember the songs they have composed and pass them on between families in different territories. This suggests that they have a universal consciousness.

Moreover, research by the Shelltone Whale Project has shown that they are able to engage in interspecies communication with humans through music.

Playing music with the whales allows us to live a special relationship with them on a daily basis and thus to be able to live intimate moments with them. These moments of intimacy allow us to collect a database of sound and behavioural data. We can then make available, organise and promote interdisciplinary research and artistic creations throughout the world.

The message is in the song.

WHALE SONGS

The whales allow us to live a special relationship with them on a daily basis and thus to be able to live intimate moments with them. These moments of intimacy allow us to collect a database of sound and behavioural data. We can then make available, organise and promote multidisciplinary research.

Indeed, recording whale songs while observing their behaviour when they emit the sounds, allows us to make hypotheses about the usefulness of these songs on their family, on distinct individuals, on their environment.

The whale songs we record are the result of years of research and thousands of hours spent at sea, in contact with them, we compile, classify and study thousands of hours of whale songs, these recordings are the basis of our research.

Pierre-lavagne-castellan-muisque-sous-marine-1

AN UNFORGETTABLE ENCOUNTER...

Whale song recorded 10 miles off Baille Argent on 26 April 2016. On that day we were stopped, engines off, listening to the hydrophone. Three singing males have arrived and positioned themselves under our boat, they started to sing? The echo is natural, we were placed on a birth vortex, the geological configuration of the vortex produces this echo.

They sang for 43 minutesWe recorded everything, and then they left, as they had arrived, in silence?

The way the singers did it was very unusual, we were aloneThey were not singing to a family member, they were not singing to a mass of phytoplankton, no, it was something else, this song seemed to be meant for us.

We are now, as we were when we had this experience, convinced that there is a message in this song.

We wish you a good listening...

CD cover
logo-shelltobe-white-30

WHALE SONGS - 43 Min.

Recorded 10 miles off Baille Argent on 26 April 2016. We are convinced that there is a message in this song. Enjoy your listening!

Read more...

lapist-stone-1

Do not hesitate to contact us

Passer au contenu

NOTRE MISSION

La mission du Shelltone Whale Project est de jouer, improviser, co-écrire et enregistrer de la musique avec les baleines, sublimant à travers cette création commune les fondamentaux de la communication inter-espèce puis d’analyser ces données, tenter de les comprendre et d’étudier les effets de ces chants et sons sur les autres organismes vivants que sont les végétaux, les animaux et les humains.

La Team

Association de loi 1901, reconnue d’intérêt général pour ses recherches en acoustique avec les cétacés et ses actions environnementales en milieu marin, le Shelltone Whale Project est spécialisée en communication inter espèce avec les cétacés.

Notre expérience scientifique de l’approche des cétacés nous permet de garantir, aux passagers de nos expéditions, de vivre une expérience unique basée sur la connaissance et le respect des animaux que nous observons. 

Tous les capitaines de nos différentes bases de Guadeloupe, Cadaqués, Nice ou Biarritz ont été formés par Pierre Lavagne de Castellan, bio acousticien marin, ethnologue et directeur de recherche du Shelltone Whale Project.

Toutes nos sorties se font dans le respect de la charte Shelltone Whale Project, élaborée pendant plus de 30 années d’études des cétacés du monde entier.

lea-nael-pierre-equipage-shelltone-1

Pierre Lavagne de Castellan

Bioacousticien marin –  Ethologue – Directeur de recherche du Shelltone Whale Project. 

Il a rencontré “sa” première baleine à bosse et écouté son “chant” à Hawaii en 1981. Depuis, il a voyagé autour de la planète et navigué dans toutes les mers. Pour établir un contact et initialiser une communication inter-espèce avec les baleines à bosse, la musique est vite devenu une voie évidente.

En 2005 il crée le “Shelltone Whale Project” et obtient la reconnaissance d’intérêt général. Il met au point en deux ans, au laboratoire de recherches acoustique de l’Ecole Centrale de Nantes et à l’université de Stanford en Californie, un instrument de musique à vent qui lui permet de jouer de la musique sous l’eau dans les fréquences des baleines à bosses avec la même tessiture.

De 2008 à 2012, il a testé cet instrument entre le nord de la Californie et l’archipel Hawaiien, avec les baleines à bosse. Les premiers échanges musicaux entre l’homme et les cétacés, sous l’eau, sont nés de ces expériences.

Depuis 2013, il étudie le chant des baleines et contribue à la mise en place d’une banque de données acoustique et photographique des cétacés du jeune sanctuaire Agoa, une aire marine protégée de Guadeloupe, où se reproduisent les baleines à bosse.

Il partage désormais son temps entre la Guadeloupe où il tente de renouer le « Lien perdu » , c’est désormais la mission principale du Shelltone Whale Project et Cadaqués en Catalogne où il met en place des protocoles de communication inter espèces avec les cétacés du Cap de Creus.

Pierre-2-1

Léa Lavagne de Castellan

Membre du team recherche.

Léa, a développé une belle connaissance des cétacés basée sur la confiance, le respect.

Une empathie particulière s’est installée dans le temps entre elle et ces animaux depuis qu’elle nage avec eux dans le programme de recherche du Shelltone Whale Project.

Une complicité est née entre elle et les différentes espèces que nous étudions, notamment avec les cachalots qu’elle appelle ses « Gwo Pwasons » … Elle suit de très près les naissances et donne des noms au bébés cachalots, qu’elle retrouve ensuite régulièrement au fil des années.

Elle est capable d’analyser les comportements des différentes espèces qui peuplent les eaux du sanctuaire Agoa où nous travaillons, elle sait les observer ou interagir avec eux sans intrusion, dans le plus grand respect.

En plus de sa participation au programme de recherche, Léa est guide diplômée du sanctuaire Agoa.

 

shelltone-whale-project-guadeloupe-lea-lavagne-002

Nael Garnier

Capitaine et guide cétacés en Guadeloupe.

Nael est né à Baille Argent, le port d’attache du Shelltone Whale Project Guadeloupe. Il est titulaire du diplome de capitaine de navire professionnel.
 
Formé par Pierre Lavagne de Castellan à l’acoustique marine et à l’approche responsable des cétacés, il est guide et capitaine du Shelltone Whale Project Guadeloupe depuis 2017.
 
Marin pêcheur professionnel, il a une grande expérience de la navigation dans  la cote sous le vent de Guadeloupe où nous travaillons. Sa connaissance du milieu marin, des poissons, marlins, espadons, thons ainsi que des oiseaux marins est complémentaire de ses compétences sur les cétacés lors de nos sorties d’observation en Guadeloupe.
 
Il est diplomé des aires marines protégées françaises, le sanctuaire des cétacés “Agoa”
nael-garnier-1

Lori le Blevec

Capitaine et guide cétacés à Nice.

Depuis toujours à l’aise en milieu aquatique et ayant passé sa vie auprès de la mer, en alternance entre les côtes bretonnes, méditerranéennes, et tropicales, Lori a toujours ressenti en elle ce besoin d’œuvrer dans ce milieu.

Elle a très rapidement passé son permis bateau ainsi que ses classes afin de devenir maître nageur sauveteur.

Lori a parcouru le monde à la découverte des cétacés pendant plus de dix années afin de se former à leur étude et de mieux les comprendre.

Elle a rencontré Pierre Lavagne de Castellan avec qui elle partage la même philosophie, il l’a formé aux bases de l’acoustique marine et lui a enseigné l’art de l’approche non intrusive des cétacés, elle pratique une approche responsable des cétacés en suivant la charte Shelltone Whale Project « RESPECT ».

En 2018, après un véritable coup de cœur, elle fait l’acquisition de son voilier le « Cétacéa » magnifique ketch de 14 mètres qu’elle dédie à l’étude des cétacés, particulièrement ceux du triangle Pelagos, au large de Nice sur la Côte d’Azur.

Son but, au sein du Shelltone Whale Project est de faire découvrir localement, d’une manière douce et respectueuse, qu’il y a des cétacés sous la fenêtre de bon nombre d’habitants de la Côte d’Azur.

Il est primordial pour elle de faire découvrir, lors de ses sorties d’observation des cétacés sur la Côte d’Azur, la vie passionnante de ces animaux marins au plus grand nombre, afin de tous ensemble, mieux les protéger.

Lotri-le-blevec-1
Lotri-le-blevec-2

Franklin Tarriere

Capitaine et guide cétacés à Biarritz.

Franklin, capitaine basco-breton, il s’est toujours laissé porté par l’Océan. Son grand père lui a transmis sa profonde passion pour la mer, il cabotait déjà à ses cotés avant même d’être en âge de s’en souvenir.

Devenu marin, la mer a dévié ses pas aux quatre coins du monde pour lui faire vivre ses plus belles aventures. De l’Irlande aux Caraibes, il a fait ses armes sur toutes sortes de navires.

Sa connaissance, son respect des cétacés et sa rencontre avec le Shelltone Whale Project l’ont emmené aujourd’hui a s’impliquer dans leur étude et protection, chez lui, dans le Pays Basque.

Il a été formé par Pierre Lavagne de Castellan et a découvert les bases de la bio acoustique marine et pratique une approche responsable des cétacés en suivant la charte Shelltone Whale Project « RESPECT ».

Franklin, capitaine basco-breton, il s’est toujours laissé porté par l’Océan. Son grand père lui a transmis sa profonde passion pour la mer, il cabotait déjà à ses cotés avant même d’être en âge de s’en souvenir.

Devenu marin, la mer a dévié ses pas aux quatre coins du monde pour lui faire vivre ses plus belles aventures. De l’Irlande aux Caraïbes, il a fait ses armes sur toutes sortes de navires.

Sa connaissance, son respect des cétacés et sa rencontre avec le Shelltone Whale Project l’ont emmené aujourd’hui a s’impliquer dans leur étude et protection, chez lui, dans le Pays Basque.

148485329_116842570364554_8297767106058041829_n

Valérie Gueit

Photographe – Membre du Team recherche.

Valérie est l’oeil sous marin du Shelltone Whale Project. Fille des îles elle a passé sa jeune enfance en Nouvelle Calédonie, elle a ensuite vécu entre la Martinique et la Guadeloupe. Elle a rejoint le Team recherche du Shelltone Whale Project il y a 6 ans. Valérie documente par l’image nos expérience de communication inter espèce avec les cétacés de Guadeloupe.

valerie-gueit-photographe-cetaces_1
valerie-gueit-photographe-marin-1

JOUER DE LA MUSIQUE AVEC LES BALEINES

Sous la surface des Océans, les baleines chantent des chants extraordinairement complexes et délicats, pure expression de leur intense vie sociale et de leur sagesse. Quiconque a approché une baleine et eu la chance d’écouter son chant, a eu la sensation que ces créatures pacifiques ont un immense savoir à découvrir et partager.

Après plusieurs années de collaboration entre ingénieurs acoustiques et biologistes marins, au laboratoire de recherche acoustique de l‘Ecole Centrale de Nantes et à l’Université de Stanford en Californie, l’équipe du Shelltone Whale Project a créé un instrument à vent inspiré de la conque marine qui permet de reproduire le chant des baleines en surface et sous l’eau.

Dans chaque région du globe, les familles de baleines à bosse composent des chants qui leur sont propres. Cependant, chaque année, toutes les baleines de tous les océans ont un chant qui leur est commun, en constante évolution. Les baleines à bosse se souviennent en effet des chants qu’elles ont composés et se les transmettent entre familles de différents territoires. Cette constatation nous laisse imaginer qu’elles font preuve d’une conscience universelle.

Plus encore, les recherches du Shelltone Whale Project ont démontré qu’elles sont capables d’engager une communication inter-espèce avec les hommes par le biais de la musique.

Jouer de la musique avec les baleines nous permet de vivre au quotidien une relation particulière avec elles et ainsi pouvoir les côtoyer, vivre des moments d’intimité avec elles. Ces moments d’intimité nous permettent de récolter une base de données sonores et comportementales. Nous pouvons alors mettre à disposition, organiser, favoriser des travaux de recherche interdisciplinaires ainsi que des créations artistiques dans le monde entier.

Le message est dans le chant.

CHANTS DE BALEINES

Les baleines nous permet de vivre au quotidien une relation particulière avec elles et ainsi pouvoir les côtoyer, vivre des moments d’intimité avec elles. Ces moments d’intimité nous permettent de récolter une base de données sonores et comportementales. Nous pouvons alors mettre à disposition, organiser, favoriser des travaux de recherches multidisciplinaires.

En effet, enregistrer des chants de baleines tout en observant leur comportement lorsqu’elles émettent les sons, nous permet d’émettre des hypothèses quand à l’utilité de ces chants sur leur famille, sur des individus distincts, sur leur environnement.

Les chants de baleines que nous enregistrons sont le fruit d’années de recherches et de milliers d’heures passées en mer, à leur contact, nous compilons, classons et étudions des milliers d’heures de chants de baleines, ces enregistrements sont la base de nos recherches.

Pierre-lavagne-castellan-muisque-sous-marine-1

UNE RENCONTRE INOUBLIABLE…

Chant de baleine enregistré à 10 miles au large de Baille Argent le 26 Avril 2016. Ce jour là, nous étions arrêtés, moteurs coupés, en écoute hydrophone. Trois mâles chanteurs sont arrivés et se sont positionnés sous notre bateau, ils ont commencé à chanter… L’écho est naturel, nous étions placés sur un vortex de naissances, la configuration géologique du vortex produit cet écho.

Ils ont chanté pendant 43 minutes, nous avons tout enregistré, puis ils sont repartis, comme ils étaient arrivés, en silence…

La manière dont les chanteurs ont procédé est très inhabituelle, nous étions seuls, ils ne chantaient pas en direction d’un membre de leur famille, ils ne chantaient pas en direction d’une masse de phytoplancton, non, c’était autre chose, ce chant semblait nous être destiné.

Nous sommes aujourd’hui, comme lorsque nous avons vécu cette expérience, convaincus qu’il y a un message dans ce chant.

Nous vous souhaitons une bonne écoute…

Couverture CD
logo-shelltobe-white-30

CHANTS DE BALEINES – 43 Min.

Enregistré à 10 miles au large de Baille Argent le 26 avril 2016. Nous sommes convaincus qu’il y a un message dans ce chant. Bonne écoute !

En savoir plus…

pierre-lavagne-1

N’hésitez pas à nous contacter