Skip to content

OUR CHARTER

SWP charter logo

Whether for scientific research or tourism, we must approach animals with respect.

The Shelltone Whale Project, a non-profit organisation recognised as being of general interest for its acoustic research and environmental actions in the marine environment, has created a charter for approaching cetaceans, based on its experience of scientific research and also its experience of cetacean watching tourism.

All the people who work on the Shelltone Whale Project boats, in addition to their training in bioacoustics and geo-referencing of cetaceans given by Pierre Lavagne de Castellan, are systematically trained in a respectful approach to cetaceans and sign our charter.

 
In French territorial waters, our approaches are made in compliance with the French Marine Protected Areas Charter, to which we are signatories.
In Spanish territorial waters, our approaches to cetaceans must respect the distances established by the current regulation RD 1727/2007, we are navigating in an area declared a Special Area of Conservation (SAC).

 

The Shelltone Whale Project Charter  R E S P E C T

This protocol for approaching cetaceans is applied to every sea trip.

Our observation protocol is governed by simple principles:

  • Our daily trips to the sea to carry out our research have enabled us to establish a climate of trust with the cetaceans, who alone decide to interact with humans in a calm, serene and conscious atmosphere.
  • On each trip, we use our hydrophone (underwater microphone) and we decipher the sounds heard in the sea, whale songs, sperm whale codas, dolphin and pilot whale whistles. These sounds, heard live, allow us to decide on the orientation of the boat to give us the best chance to observe the animals while respecting their own behaviour during the encounter.
  • A unique experience, a scientific, ecological and educational approach, based on the principles of non-intrusion, respect for the cetaceans and their social life, and their own way of life.

This is the approach we use during the observations:

Unknown
cachalot-deshaies-1

WHALE SONGS - 43 Min.

Recorded 10 miles off Baille Argent on 26 April 2016. We are convinced that there is a message in this song. Enjoy your listening!

Read more...

lapist-stone-1

Do not hesitate to contact us

Passer au contenu

NOTRE CHARTE

Logo charte SWP

Que ce soit pour la recherche scientifique ou le tourisme, nous devons approcher les animaux avec respect.

Le Shelltone Whale Project,  association de loi 1901 reconnue d’intérêt général pour ses recherches acoustiques et ses actions environnementales en milieu marin a créé une charte d’approche des cétacés, basée sur son expérience de recherches scientifiques  et aussi son expérience du tourisme de l’observation des cétacés.

Toutes les personnes qui travaillent sur les bateaux du Shelltone Whale Project, en plus de leur formation en bioacoustique et en géo référencement des cétacés dispensée par Pierre Lavagne de Castellan, sont systématiquement formés à une approche respectueuse des cétacés et signataire de notre charte.

 
Dans les eaux territoriales françaises, nos approches se font dans le respect de la charte des aires marines protégées françaises dont nous sommes signataires de la charte d’approche des cétacés.
Dans les eaux territoriales espagnoles, nos approches des cétacés doivent respecter les distances fixées par la réglementation actuelle RD 1727/2007, nous naviguons dans une zone déclarée ZEC (Zone Spéciale de Conservation).

 

La charte Shelltone Whale Project  R E S P E C T

Ce protocole d’approche des cétacés, est appliqué à chaque sortie en mer.

Notre protocole d’observation est régit par des principes simples :

  • Nos sorties en mer quotidiennes, pour y mener nos recherches, nous ont permis d’établir dans le temps un climat de confiance avec les cétacés qui seuls décident d’une interaction avec les humains, dans une ambiance calme, sereine en conscience.
  • A chaque sortie, nous utilisons notre hydrophone (micro sous marin) et nous  décryptons les sons entendus dans la mer, chants de baleines, codas de cachalots, sifflements de dauphins et globicéphales. Ces sons entendus en direct, nous permettent de décider de l’orientation du bateau pour se donner le plus de chance d’observer les animaux tout en respectant leur propre comportement lors de la rencontre.
  • Une expérience unique, une approche scientifique, écologique , pédagogique, basée sur des principes de non intrusion, de respect des cétacés de leur vie sociale; de leur propre organisation de vie.

Voici le schéma d’approche que nous utilisons lors des observations :

Unknown
cachalot-deshaies-1

CHANTS DE BALEINES – 43 Min.

Enregistré à 10 miles au large de Baille Argent le 26 avril 2016. Nous sommes convaincus qu’il y a un message dans ce chant. Bonne écoute !

En savoir plus…

pierre-lavagne-1

N’hésitez pas à nous contacter