Image Image Image Image Image

The missing link

Renew the missing Link

In all the world’s seas, humpback whales have, for thousands of years, nurtured bonds with the men who live on the coastal areas where they live, and these bonds still exist today.

Throughout the World, we observe how humpback whales wish to approach men, to spend time with them, to swim with them, to exchange their music with them, their sound … everywhere except in the Caribbean…

Why ?

To understand this, we must look back in history where we realise that the links that whales have with the first tribes are several millennia old.

When agricultural Europeans began visiting and writing about the North in the 10th century, they were mesmerized by Aboriginal peoples’ relationships with whales. Medieval literature depicted the Arctic as a land of malevolent “monstrous fishes” and people who could summon them to shore through magical powers and mumbled spells.

Even as explorers and missionaries brought back straightforward accounts of how individual whaling cultures went about hunting, butchering, and sharing a whale, it was hard to shake the sense of mysticism. In 1938, American anthropologist Margaret Lantis analyzed these scattered ethnographic accounts and concluded that Iñupiat, Inuit, and other northern peoples belonged to a circumpolar “whale cult.”

Lantis found evidence of this in widespread taboos and rituals meant to cement the relationship between people and whales. In many places, a recently killed whale was given a drink of fresh water, a meal, and even traveling bags to ensure a safe journey back to its spiritual home. Individual whalers had their own songs to call the whales to them. Sometimes shamans performed religious ceremonies inside circles made of whale bones. Stashes of whaling amulets—an ambiguous word used to describe everything from carved, jewelry-like charms to feathers or skulls—were passed from father to son in whaling families.

To non-Indigenous observers, it was all so mysterious. So unknowable. And for archaeologists and biologists especially, it was at odds with Western scientific values, which prohibited anything that smacked of anthropomorphism.

Along some of Alaska’s coast, the rocks are covered with petroglyphs of men and whales. These were carved by shaman whalers as part of the rituals whereby they gained the secrets of the sea and offered thanks for its bounty.

In archaeology, such attitudes have limited our understanding of Arctic prehistory, says Erica Hill, a zooarchaeologist with the University of Alaska Southeast. Whaling amulets and bone circles were written off as ritualistic or supernatural with little exploration of what they actually meant to the people who created them. Instead, archaeologists who studied animal artifacts often focused on the tangible information they revealed about what ancient people ate, how many calories they consumed, and how they survived.

Hill is part of a burgeoning branch of archaeology that uses ethnographic accounts and oral histories to re-examine animal artifacts with fresh eyes—and interpret the past in new, non-Western ways. “I’m interested in this as part of our prehistory as humans,” Hill says, “but also in what it tells us about alternative ways of being.”

The idea that Indigenous people have spiritual relationships with animals is so well established in popular culture it’s cliché. Yet constricted by Western science and culture, few archaeologists have examined the record of human history with the perspective that animals feel emotions and can express those emotions to humans.

Thus the Tinglits of North West America, South East Australian Aborigines, Kaikoura Maori, Mayumba people in West Africa, Hawaiians, Polynesians and many others have been able to forge powerful links, based on respect and interaction with these whales.

– Respect because these whales were considered as being part of the family by the first peoples; the Tinglits especially consider them as such and eating whale flesh is likened to cannibalism; or as gods: the Hawaiians call them “Koholas” or goddesses of the sea who are surrounded by a huge aura of Mana, pure energy; guardians of spirituality.

– Interaction, because whale song is found in the shamanic chants of peoples who have listened to them for thousands of years, but also, one can find human melodies in whale song … (see The search for the lost Kalinagos music)

The lost link of the Caribbean

In the Caribbean, the pre-columbian peoples certainly had these same links with humpback whales, and these whales considered these people as their family, until 1492 …

In 1492, the arrival of Europeans spelled doom for these these civilizations, Kalinagos, Caraibes, Tainos, Arrawaks, these people were gradually exterminated or assimilated, their culture and their spirituality destroyed. The whales experienced this genocide of their “family” as a trauma. Since then, a real defiance has formed when faced when these “new” humans which now populate the Caribbean.

Pierre Lavagne de Castellan

0129.DR-jlh-637.568

Taino’s rock painting  (Dominican Republic 4000 years ago) representing a humpback whale.

This whale’s posture cannot be observed from the surface, this position, arched, pectoral rest, is characteristic of a whale during socialization. The person who painted this whale around 4000 years ago therefore must have observed it under water …

 

 

OUR MISSION IS TO RECREATE THIS BOND.

The three areas of work:

  • On a daily basis, the Shelltone Whale Project team practices interspecies communication with humpback whales in Guadeloupe using the Shelltone to gradually establish a musical dialogue between whales and humans. Playing music daily with whales allows us create a special relationship with them and thus approach them, and reconnect on an intimate level.
  • At the Petit Bourg School of Music, we are in the process of creating an orchestra of young musicians who will learn whale music, which we will then take to sea to play with them. Learn More: School of Music.
  • We will meet musicians and scientists from other Caribbean islands where humpback whales live, in order to initiate multidisciplinary exchanges.

 

Learning whale music at the music and dance school in Petit Bourg.

This year, the music school of Petit Bourg, in collaboration with the Shelltone Whale Project, is offering its students singing and whale music sessions.

Each student in this “formation” plays the instrument he usually works on, Pierre Lavagne de Castellan teaches the students the melodies of the whales. Students must compose their own piece inspired by whale songs.

The idea is that in the long term, young musicians will be able to play with humpback whales on a catamaran specially designed for interspecies communication, using music as a medium of communication, we hope to reconnect people and whales in Guadeloupe and throughout the Caribbean.

Guadeloupe is thus on the way to becoming the first island in the world where children play music with the whales that inhabit its waters, interspecies communication raised in art… A sharing and mutual recognition that is intended to last from generation to generation….

 

ne_half]2632_61769404805_572579805_1463593_1496355_n[/one_half]

3281_1139486280842_1037954967_2410768_2814423_n
Pierre Lavagne de Castellan in Maui Hawaii, playing music with whales together with David Rothenberg et Dan Sythe.

 

The search for the missing music of the Kalinagos….

We know that humpback whales have been inspired for thousands of years by the music of the men who live on the coasts of the areas they frequent. They have therefore built their musical repertoire in collaboration with these men. They then use this repertoire to transmit from generation to generation the proteodic songs, which they use for the functions we develop here. However, in the Caribbean, the pre-Columbian populations, Tainos, Arrawacs, Caribbean, Kalinagos… have almost all been decimated. Only in Dominica do descendants of this population remain. The trauma of the invasion of their territory, the genocide they suffered and the colonization they subsequently experienced, caused them to lose most of their culture, including their music.

However, humpback whales have preserved this music, which they transmit, play and still use to convey proteodic songs from generation to generation.

One of the goals of the Shelltone Whale Project is to find this music in the song of Caribbean whales and to give it to the Kalinago people living in Dominica.

Image Image Image Image Image

Le lien perdu

Renouer le lien perdu

Dans toutes les mers du monde, les baleines à bosse ont, pendant des milliers d’années, nourri des liens qui perdurent encore aujourd’hui avec les hommes qui peuplent les côtes auprès desquelles elles vivent.

Nous observons partout dans le Monde la volonté des baleines à bosse de s’approcher des hommes, de passer du temps en leur compagnie, de nager avec eux, d’échanger avec eux leur musique, leur son… partout sauf dans les Caraibes….

Pourquoi ?

Pour comprendre, il faut se replacer dans un contexte historique, réaliser que les liens que les baleines ont avec les peuples premiers datent de plusieurs millénaires.

Lorsque les Européens ont commencé à visiter et à écrire sur le Nord au Xe siècle, ils ont été fascinés par les relations des peuples autochtones avec les baleines. La littérature médiévale décrivait l’Arctique comme une terre de  » poissons monstrueux  » malveillants et de gens qui pouvaient les appeler sur la rive par des pouvoirs magiques et des sorts marmonnés.

Même lorsque les explorateurs et les missionnaires rapportaient des récits simples sur la façon dont les différentes cultures de chasse à la baleine chassaient, charcutaient et partageaient une baleine, il était difficile de se défaire de ce sentiment de mysticisme. En 1938, l’anthropologue américaine Margaret Lantis a analysé ces récits ethnographiques épars et a conclu que Iñupiat, les Inuit et d’autres peuples du Nord appartenaient à un « culte circumpolaire des baleines ».

Lantis en a trouvé la preuve dans de nombreux tabous et rituels destinés à cimenter la relation entre les gens et les baleines. Dans de nombreux endroits, on donnait à une baleine récemment tuée un verre d’eau douce, un repas et même des sacs de voyage pour assurer un retour en toute sécurité à son foyer spirituel. Chaque baleinier avait ses propres chants pour appeler les baleines. Parfois, les chamans pratiquaient des cérémonies religieuses à l’intérieur de cercles faits d’os de baleines. Des caches d’amulettes de baleiniers – un mot ambigu utilisé pour décrire tout, des amulettes sculptées en forme de bijoux aux plumes ou aux crânes – étaient transmises de père en fils dans les familles baleiniers.
Pour les observateurs non autochtones, c’était si mystérieux. Si inconnaissable. Et pour les archéologues et les biologistes en particulier, elle était en contradiction avec les valeurs scientifiques occidentales, qui interdisaient tout ce qui sentait l’anthropomorphisme.

Le long de certaines côtes de l’Alaska, les roches sont recouvertes de pétroglyphes d’hommes et de baleines. Ils étaient sculptés par des chamans baleiniers dans le cadre de rituels qui leur permettaient d’acquérir les secrets de la mer et d’offrir des remerciements pour sa générosité.

En archéologie, de telles attitudes ont limité notre compréhension de la préhistoire arctique, explique Erica Hill, zooarchéologue à l’Université d’Alaska Southeast. Les amulettes de baleiniers et les cercles d’os ont été considérés comme rituels ou surnaturels, sans que l’on sache vraiment ce qu’ils signifiaient pour les gens qui les ont créés. Au lieu de cela, les archéologues qui ont étudié les artefacts animaux se sont souvent concentrés sur les informations tangibles qu’ils ont révélées sur ce que mangeaient les peuples anciens, combien de calories ils consommaient et comment ils survivaient.
Hill fait partie d’une branche en plein essor de l’archéologie qui utilise des récits ethnographiques et des histoires orales pour réexaminer les artefacts animaux avec un regard neuf et interpréter le passé d’une manière nouvelle et non occidentale. « Cela m’intéresse en tant que partie de notre préhistoire en tant qu’humains, dit Hill, mais aussi dans ce qu’il nous dit sur les autres façons d’être.

L’idée que les peuples autochtones ont des relations spirituelles avec les animaux est si bien établie dans la culture populaire que c’est un cliché. Pourtant, limités par la science et la culture occidentales, peu d’archéologues ont examiné les archives de l’histoire humaine dans la perspective que les animaux ressentent des émotions et peuvent exprimer ces émotions aux humains.

Ainsi les Tinglits du Nord Ouest Américain, les Aborigènes du Sud Est Australien, les Maoris de Kaikoura, le peuple Mayumba en Afrique de l’Ouest, les Hawaiiens, les Polynésiens et tant d’autres ont pu en plusieurs milliers d’années tisser des liens puissants, basés sur le respect et souvent l’échange avec ces baleines.

– Le respect car ces baleines sont considérées par les peuples premiers, soit comme des membres de la famille, les Tinglits notamment les considèrent ainsi et le fait chez eux de manger leur chair est assimilé au cannibalisme, soit comme des divinités, les Hawaiiens les nomment « Koholas » les déesses de la mer, qui sont entourées d’une immense sphère de Mana, l’énergie pure, gardienne de la spiritualité.

– L’échange, car le chant des baleines se retrouve dans les chants chamaniques des peuples qui les écoutent depuis des milliers d’années, mais aussi, on peut retrouver des mélodies humaines dans le chant des baleines… ( voir La recherche de la musique disparue des Kalinagos )

Le lien perdu des Caraibes

Dans les Caraibes, les peuples pré colombiens ont certainement eu ces mêmes liens avec les baleines à bosse, ces baleines considéraient ces peuples comme leur famille, jusqu’en 1492…

1492, l’arrivée des Européens a sonné le glas de ces civilisations, Kalinagos, Caraibes, Taïnos, Arrawaks, ces peuples furent progressivement exterminés ou assimilés, leur culture et leur spiritualité anéanties. Les baleines ont alors subi ce génocide de leur « famille » comme un traumatisme. Dés lors s’est installé chez elle une défiance légitime vis à vis des « nouveaux » humains qui peuplent désormais les Caraïbes.

Pierre Lavagne de Castellan


0129.DR-jlh-637.568

Peinture rupestre Taino ( République Dominicaine il y a 4000 ans ) représentant une baleine à bosse.

La position de cette baleine ne peut être observée de la surface, cette position, cambrée, pectorales au repos, est caractéristique d’une baleine en socialisation, la personne qui a peint cette baleine il y a peut être 4000 ans avait l’habitude de la côtoyer, sous l’eau…


Notre mission est de renouer ce lien

L’interaction musicale avec les baleines à bosse des Caraïbes, est la clé pour renouer le dialogue avec ces animaux… recréer le lien.

Les trois axes de travail :

  • Au quotidien, l’équipe du Shelltone Whale Project pratique la communication inter espèce avec les baleines à bosse de Guadeloupe en utilisant le Shelltone pour peu à peu installer un dialogue musical entre les baleines et les hommes. Jouer de la musique avec les baleines nous permet de vivre au quotidien une relation particulière avec elles et ainsi pouvoir les côtoyer, vivre des moments d’intimité avec elles, renouer des liens.
  • A l’école de musique de Petit Bourg, nous préparons la formation d’un orchestre de jeunes musiciens qui apprendront la musique des baleines pour ensuite les emmener en mer jouer avec elles.
  • Nous allons partir à la rencontre des musiciens et scientifiques des autres îles des Caraibes où vivent les baleines à bosse, afin d’initier des échanges pluridisciplinaires.

 

L’apprentissage de la musique des baleines à l’école de musique et danse de Petit Bourg.

  • L’école de musique de Petit Bourg, propose cette année à ses élèves, de suivre en collaboration avec le Shelltone Whale Project des sessions de chant et musique des baleines.
  • Chaque élève de cette « formation » joue de l’instrument qu’il travaille habituellement, Pierre Lavagne de Castellan apprends aux élèves les mélodies des baleines. Les élèves doivent composer leur propre morceau inspiré du chant des baleines.
  • L’idée est qu’à terme, les jeunes musiciens pourront jouer avec les baleines à bosse, sur un catamaran spécialement conçu pour la communication inter-espèce, en utilisant la musique comme vecteur de communication, nous avons l’espoir de renouer le lien entre les hommes et les baleines en Guadeloupe puis dans l’ensemble des Caraïbes.

La Guadeloupe est ainsi en passe de devenir la première île au monde où les enfants jouent de la musique avec les baleines qui peuplent ses eaux, la communication inter espèce élevée en art… Un partage et reconnaissance mutuelle qui a vocation à se pérenniser de générations en générations…

2632_61769404805_572579805_1463593_1496355_n
3281_1139486280842_1037954967_2410768_2814423_n
Pierre Lavagne de Castellan à Maui Hawaii, avec David Rothenberg et Dan Sythe.


La recherche de la musique disparue des Kalinagos…

On sait que les baleines à bosse s’inspirent depuis des milliers d’années de la musique des hommes qui vivent sur les cotes des zones qu’elles fréquentent. Elles ont donc construit leur répertoire musical en collaboration avec ces hommes. Elles utilisent ensuite ce répertoire pour transmettre de génération en génération les chants protéodiques, qu’elles utilisent pour les fonctions que nous développons ici. Cependant, dans les Caraïbes, les populations pré colombiennes, Taïnos, Arrawacs, Carïbes, Kalinagos… ont pratiquement été toutes décimées. Seul en Dominique subsistent des descendants de cette population. Le traumatisme de l’envahissement de leur territoire, le génocide qu’ils ont subit et la colonisation qu’ils ont vécu par la suite, leur a fait perdre la majeure partie de leur culture, dont leur musique.

Cependant, les baleines à bosse, elles, ont conservé cette musique qu’elles se transmettent, jouent et utilisent toujours pour véhiculer les chants protéodiques de générations en générations.

Un des buts du Shelltone Whale Project est de retrouver dans le chant des baleine des caraïbes, cette musique et la remettre au peuple Kalinago subsistant en Dominique.